Criminal Trespass

In the state of Texas, Criminal Trespass is defined as the knowingly entering or remaining hidden on any property without the consent of the owner. These charges can occur on private property of all kinds including buildings, parks, residential land, aircrafts, boats, agricultural land, and so forth.

If you or someone in your family is currently facing a Criminal Trespass charge, Bruce Isaacks is a qualified and experienced Criminal Defense Attorney with a history of successfully arguing all kinds of Criminal Trespass, Burglary, Breaking & Entering, and related criminal charges. Don’t let your fate be decided by a court-appointed attorney. Protect your rights and give yourself your best chance at a positive outcome by calling our office today. We’d be glad to discuss the best possible defense for your case.

Criminal Trespass Classifications & Penalties

According to Texas State Law, most Criminal Trespass cases are Class B & C misdemeanors. However, in the right circumstances, criminal trespass can be upgraded to a more severe Class A misdemeanor. This can occur if the offense is committed with a deadly weapon or in a critical infrastructure facility or shelter center. It should be noted that having a license to carry a concealed handgun does not permit individuals to carry onto a property where concealed firearms are forbidden.

Though many offenders do not take criminal trespass charges seriously, they often end up spending years in jail because they failed to realize how severe the penalties for their actions were. According to severity, fines as high as $4,000 can also be incurred, so it’s absolutely necessary to seek representation as soon as you know or suspect your facing criminal trespass cases in order to avoid jail time.


  • Class C Misdemeanor Criminal Trespass – fines of up to $500 can be assessed.
  • Class B Misdemeanor Criminal Trespass – fines of up to $2,000 and up to 180 days in jail can result from a guilty verdict for a Class B infraction.
  • Class A Misdemeanor Criminal Trespass – fines of up to $4,000 can be assessed as well as up to a year in jail for a Class A Misdemeanor infraction.


Given that many criminal trespass charges can be coupled with or upgraded to other charges like breaking & entering with felonious intent, jail time and fine amounts can increase dramatically. This is another reason why it’s absolutely vital to find an experienced and determined attorney like Bruce who will fight tooth & nail to get the best possible outcome for your case.


Defending Against a Criminal Defense Charge:

Anyone can find themselves on the wrong side of a criminal trespass charge if they are not careful. You may have believed a property abandoned or open to the public. As long as there are no other charges like criminal intent or breaking and entering, an experienced attorney like Bruce may be able to successfully argue a not-guilty plea. Additionally, if you were under the impression the area you trespassed was one you’d have been given permission to had you asked, this can be used in your defense.

The best thing you can do is hire a dedicated, experienced and tough criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Bruce is Board Certified, Criminal Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He is a practicing Criminal Defense Attorney in Denton, TX and a Former District Attorney who has spent years aggressively defending the rights of clients facing criminal trespass, breaking & entering, and burglary related charges in Denton, TX and the surrounding area. He has the legal expertise, drive, and understanding of the North Texas court system needed to protect your freedom from a complex criminal trespass case.


If you would like to discuss the specifics of your case or are in need of legal representation, please give the Law Offices of Bruce Isaacks a call today. It’s absolutely vital you get representation as soon as possible, so give us a call today so we can get started on your case.